View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2008, 11:45 AM
kenny's Avatar
kenny kenny is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 1975
Location: S.L.C.
Posts: 2,053
Rep Power: 153
kenny has a spectacular aura aboutkenny has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardino View Post
Hi kenny,

I see your site, and there is a thread about gr-ads.com. I also
received their email and proceed with their business. They have sent
me the money (150 US$) trough paypal for placing some link on my post.
It was way to easy.

Since I was new on this blog and website thing, in your opinion is
there any chance their business was a lie or a scam or something like
that? I need your advice right away, because I already received their
money in my account. And if there any chance that I'm going to loose a
bigger money than what they are sending, than I prefer to close my
paypal acount.

What do you think? thanx..

Rgds
Well I don't know if gr-ads.com is a scam for sure but I would watch you’re PayPal account and see if there are any shady transactions. I looked around on Google as I am sure you did too since we seem to be the number one hit for their website name. And nothing really turned up there, we did but not even their own site. So I looked at archive.org which shows you previous versions of sites and it had nothing. Are you familiar with robots.txt? If not it is a text file which a website owner can place on their site, you can tell search engines to ignore and to not categorized certain directories. Well if you go to this websites robot.txt it looks like this:

User-agent: *
Disallow: /

So it is basically telling everyone to go away, so this makes one wonder. If you have a business or even a website for that matter, do you really want to keep your presence on the web secret? So that to me is red flag #1.

# - Under their advertising plans it states "October News - GrassRoots Advertising has filled our schedule until the middle of 2008 so we can not take additional clients. Thank you." Hmm, what business turns down clients? One with a bunch of fake employee's so they are just booked out since its only three people. Either that or they are making so much money they don't have to work that much nor take on new clientele.

#3 - The profiles on this website are odd. They are almost like myspace profiles and they have a lot of pretty women working for them. So I would almost question if these are just made up profiles.

#4 - They are spammers. They go through registrar information for their contacts. I know this because every e-mail address that we use around here, aside from personal communication is special so that we can track the people that use them and how they got them. When I confronted them about this they lied.

#5 - Their grammar and bad spelling. They all graduated from college (supposedly) well didn't they take an English class, and even if not the first thing you learn about working in a business environment is spell check. You don't want to come across as a dolt.

So there are a lot of questions here. Our first target in research will be Robert Davidson the CEO. I will make a request for his Harvard transcripts. This can only be done via mail or in person so it will take some time. Let's start there and see just how full of shit this company is. Until then you are on your own, we can only do so much so fast. If you do keep your PayPal account, let us know how things turn out. Maybe they aren't scammers, maybe they are just liars trying to get their foot in the door.
__________________
-kenny-


"I'd rather be hated for what I am than loved for what I'm not." -Bushwick Bill
Reply With Quote